Kelsey Rocque shoots a stone during the Boost National in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., on Dec. 9, 2016. (Anil Mungal)

Tier 2 field set for Tour Challenge in Regina

July 26, 2017, 12:15 PM

Sixty teams are now set to compete in the Tour Challenge, the season-opening Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event running Sept. 5-10 at the Co-operators Centre at Evraz Place in Regina.

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Wednesday the 30 teams for the Tour Challenge’s Tier 2 division to round out the field for the largest event in the series.

Quick Links: Tickets | Tier 2 Teams | Tier 2 Draw Schedule | TV Schedule

Both Tier 2 men’s and women’s divisions feature 15 teams: 10 teams selected based on the World Curling Tour’s Order of Merit (following completion of the Tier 1 field) and five teams from within the region of the Tour Challenge site. In the event a team declined, the next-ranked team on the OOM received an invite.

The Tour Challenge Tier 2 provides a stepping stone for teams to move up the ranks and gives local teams the opportunity to compete in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series on arena ice. Tier 2 winners earn berths to the following Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournament and first major of the season, the Masters, taking place Oct. 24-29 in Lloydminster, Sask., with flights, accommodations and entry fees paid for.

Past winners of the Tier 2 division include Team Cotter, Team Einarson, Team Balsdon and Team Harrison.

Tier 1 teams were announced earlier this month. Click here for the full details.

Tickets are now available for the Tour Challenge, call 1-855-985-5000 or visit to purchase your passes today. If you can’t make it to Regina, live TV coverage will be featured on Sportsnet and CBC and online at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and (international).

Below are the 15 men’s teams and 15 women’s teams for the Tour Challenge Tier 2 group:

Men’s Teams
OOM Rank Team (Skip) Hometown
18 Jason Gunnlaugson Winnipeg, MB
19 Greg Balsdon Kingston, ON
20 Charley Thomas Edmonton, AB
21 Brendan Bottcher Edmonton, AB
22 Dayna Deruelle Kingston, ON
23 Craig Brown Madison, WI
24 Greg Drummond Stirling, SCO
25 Rui Liu Harbin, CHN
26 Adam Casey Regina, SK
27 William Lyburn Winnipeg, MB
32* Colton Flasch Saskatoon, SK
39* Josh Heidt Saskatoon, SK
49* Carl deConinck Smith Rosetown, SK
60* Jason Ackerman Regina, SK
67* Jason Jacobson Saskatoon, SK

* – denotes regional selection

Women’s Teams
OOM Rank Team (Skip) Hometown
17 Nina Roth Blaine, USA
18 Anna Sidorova Moscow, RUS
19 Jamie Sinclair Blaine, USA
20 Kelsey Rocque Edmonton, AB
21 Hannah Fleming Lockerbie, SCO
22 Kerri Einarson Winnipeg, MB
23 EunJung Kim Uiseong, KOR
25 Binia Feltscher Flims, SUI
26 Chelsea Carey Calgary, AB
27 Nadine Scotland Calgary, AB
49* Robyn Silvernagle North Battleford, SK
55* Penny Barker Moose Jaw, SK
60* Nancy Martin Saskatoon, SK
61* Stefanie Lawton Saskatoon, SK
63* Chantelle Eberle Regina, SK

* – denotes regional selection