Brad Gushue watches the line during the 2017 Humpty's Champions Cup in Calgary. (Anil Mungal)

Teams announced for Tour Challenge Tier 1

July 19, 2017, 12:24 PM

The world’s best will kick off the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season in high gear at the Tour Challenge, Sept. 5-10 at the Co-operators Centre – Evraz Place in Regina.

The third annual Tour Challenge is the largest event in the series featuring 60 teams split into two tiers of exciting action.

Fifteen of the top men’s teams and 15 of the top women’s teams from around the globe are set to compete in the Tour Challenge’s Tier 1 division headlined with reigning world champions Team Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., and Ottawa’s Team Homan.

Quick Links: Tickets | Teams | Draw Schedule | TV Schedule

All roads this season lead to the 2018 Winter Olympics and a few teams who have already been selected to represent their countries in Pyeongchang, South Korea, will hit the ice at the Tour Challenge: Sweden’s Team Edin and Team Hasselborg and Great Britain’s Team Smith and Team Muirhead.

Teams were invited to the Tier 1 based on the World Curling Tour’s Order of Merit rankings. In the event a team declined, the next-ranked team on the OOM received an invite.

The winning teams of the Tier 1 stage collect $30,000 and are guaranteed spots in the season-ending Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournament, the Humpty’s Champions Cup, running April 24-29, 2018, returning to WinSport Arena in Calgary.

Tier 1 teams also earn points towards the Bonus Cup, awarded to the overall season champions following the conclusion of the Players’ Championship. The Bonus Cup winning teams claim $75,000 each in additional prize money. Team Edin and Team Sweeting of Edmonton captured the Bonus Cup this past season and are also the defending Tour Challenge Tier 1 champions.

The Tier 2 men’s and women’s divisions will also consist of 15 teams each featuring the next 10 teams ranked on the OOM plus five regional invites. Tier 2 teams will be announced at a future date.

Tier 2 winners have the opportunity to move up the ranks by receiving invites to the following Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournament, the Masters, running Oct. 24-29 in Lloydminster, Sask., with flights, accommodations and entry fees paid for.

Tickets are now available for the Tour Challenge, call 1-855-985-5000 or visit to purchase your passes today. If you can’t make it to Regina, live TV coverage will be featured on Sportsnet and CBC and online at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and (international).

Below are the 15 men’s teams and 15 women’s teams for the Tour Challenge Tier 1 group:

1 Niklas Edin, Oskar Eriksson, Rasmus Wrana, Christoffer Sundgren
2 Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker
3 Brad Jacobs, Ryan Fry, E.J. Harnden, Ryan Harnden
4 Reid Carruthers, Braeden Moskowy, Derek Samagalski, Colin Hodgson
5 Kevin Koe, Marc Kennedy, Brent Laing, Ben Hebert
6 John Epping, Mathew Camm, Patrick Janssen, Tim March
8 Kyle Smith, Thomas Muirhead, Kyle Waddell, Cammy Smith
9 Peter de Cruz, Benoit Schwarz, Claudio Paetz, Valentin Tanner
10 Steve Laycock, Kirk Muyres, Matt Dunstone, Dallan Muyres
12 John Morris, Jim Cotter, Catlin Schneider, Tyrel Griffith
13 Glenn Howard, Richard Hart, David Mathers, Scott Howard
14 Heath McCormick, Christopher Plys, Korey Dropkin, Thomas Howell
15 John Shuster, Tyler George, Matt Hamilton, John Landsteiner
16 Pat Simmons, Colton Lott, Kyle Doering, Robbie Gordon
17 Steffen Walstad, Markus Hoiberg, Magnus Nedregotten, Magnus Vagberg
1 Rachel Homan, Emma Miskew, Joanne Courtney, Lisa Weagle
2 Jennifer Jones, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jill Officer, Dawn McEwen
3 Anna Hasselborg, Sara McManus, Agnes Knochenhauer, Sofia Mabergs
4 Silvana Tirinzoni, Manuela Siegrist, Esther Neuenschwander, Marlene Albrecht
5 Allison Flaxey, Clancy Grandy, Lynn Kreviazuk, Morgan Court
6 Val Sweeting, Lori Olson-Johns, Dana Ferguson, Rachel Brown
7 Eve Muirhead, Anna Sloan, Vicki Adams, Lauren Gray
8 Casey Scheidegger, Cary-Anne McTaggart, Jessie Scheidegger, Kristie Moore
9 Michelle Englot, Kate Cameron, Leslie Wilson-Westcott, Raunora Westcott
10 Tracy Fleury, Jennifer Wylie, Jenna Walsh, Amanda Gates, Crystal Webster
11 Alina Paetz, Nadine Lehmann, Marisa Winkelhausen, Nicole Schwaegli
12 Jacqueline Harrison, Janet Murphy, Stephanie Matheson, Melissa Foster
14 Sherry Middaugh, Jo-Ann Rizzo, Lee Merklinger, Leigh Armstrong
15 Bingyu Wang, Yan Zhou, Jinli Liu, Jingyi Ma
16 Julie Tippin, Chantal Duhaime, Rachelle Vink, Tess Bobbie