Krista McCarville at the 2016 Humpty's Champions Cup in Sherwood Park, Alta. (Photo: Anil Mungal)

McCarville, Howard headline Tour Challenge Tier 2 field

October 12, 2016, 7:57 PM

Tournament of Hearts finalist Krista McCarville and four-time world champion Glenn Howard lead the list of teams set to compete in the Tour Challenge Tier 2 running Nov. 8-13 in Cranbrook, B.C.

The full field for the Tier 2 division has been announced for the second Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event of the season taking place at Western Financial Place and Memorial Arena.

The Tier 1 teams were announced earlier Wednesday, click here to see the list.

Fifteen men’s teams and 15 women’s teams will compete in the Tier 2 division. Ten men’s and women’s teams received invitations to the event based on their World Curling Tour total Order of Merit (OOM) ranking as of Oct. 3 after the Tier 1 division lineup had been finalized. In the event a team declined, the next-ranked team on the OOM received an invite. The remaining five men’s and five women’s teams were invited from within the region of the event.

The Tier 2 offers an excellent opportunity for teams to fast track their way into the elite ranks as the winners will receive guaranteed berths to the Meridian Canadian Open taking place Jan. 3-8, 2017, in North Battleford, Sask. For other teams that have played in the series previously it’s a chance to reclaim their spot among the world’s best.

The inaugural Tour Challenge was held a year ago on the opposite side of the country in Paradise, N.L. Jim Cotter defeated Mark Kean for the Tier 2 men’s title while Kerri Einarson topped Chantelle Eberle’s team in the Tier 2 women’s final. The victories vaulted Cotter and Einarson into Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series regulars and they both return to the Tour Challenge in the Tier 1 division.

Tier 2 games from round-robin play through to the semifinals will be held at Memorial Arena with the finals being played alongside the Tier 1 finals at Western Financial Place.

Tickets are now available, visit for more details. Can’t make it to Cranbrook? Sportsnet will have you covered starting Nov. 10, click here for the full TV schedule. Watch online with Sportsnet Now, click here to subscribe today.

Below is the list of teams set to compete in the Tour Challenge Tier 2:


(as of Week 7)
Team Hometown
17 Glenn Howard Penetanguishene, ON
18 Tom Brewster Aberdeen, SCO
19 Jason Gunnlaugson Winnipeg, MB
21 William Lyburn Winnipeg, MB
24 Bruce Mouat Edinburgh, SCO
25 Craig Brown Blaine, USA
28 Jean-Michel Menard Gatineau, QC
29 Brady Clark Seattle, USA
30 Mark Bice Sarnia, ON
31 Greg Balsdon Kingston, ON
38 Dean Joanisse New Westminster, BC
107 Andrew Bilesky New Westminster, BC
112 Tyler Tardi Langley, BC
119 Stephen Schneider Vancouver, BC
139 Sean Geall Kelowna, BC


(as of Week 7)
Team Hometown
21 Krista McCarville Thunder Bay, ON
22 Jacqueline Harrison Mississauga, ON
23 Julie Tippin Woodstock, ON
24 Shannon Kleibrink Okotoks, AB
25 Casey Scheidegger Lethbridge, AB
26 Cory Christensen Blaine, USA
27 Stefanie Lawton Saskatoon, SK
28 Nina Roth Blaine, USA
29 Joelle Brown Winnipeg, MB
30 Hannah Fleming Lockerbie, SCO
40 Marla Mallett Walnut Grove, BC
43 Diane Gushulak Vancouver, BC
44 Karla Thompson Kamloops, BC
75 Corryn Brown Kamloops, BC
117 Kerry Galusha Yellowknife, NWT