About the Tour Challenge


The Tour Challenge was one of two new events added to the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling schedule during the 2015-16 season and features the largest field in the series.

The goal of the Tour Challenge is to broaden the field and kick off the curling season with the opportunity for 60 teams on the World Curling Tour to participate in a Pinty’s GSOC event on arena ice. Two ice pads are converted for a total of 10 curling sheets, one of which will host Tier 1 and the second will feature Tier 2 right next door.

Paradise, N.L., hosted the inaugural Tour Challenge in September 2015. Calgary’s Kevin Koe clipped local favourite Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., in an extra end during the men’s final. Silvana Tirinzoni of Switzerland stunned Ottawa’s Rachel Homan by stealing the eighth end of the women’s final for her first career GSOC title.

The Tour Challenge travelled to the opposite coast the following season landing in Cranbrook, B.C. Sweden’s Niklas Edin picked up his second GSOC title in as many weeks defeating Scotland’s Kyle Smith in the first-ever all-European men’s final in the series. Edmonton’s Val Sweeting captured the women’s title beating Winnipeg’s Michelle Englot.

The winners of the Tier 1 event receive invitations to the Champions Cup, the final event of the Pinty’s GSOC season that showcases all of the winners from major events in curling.

The winners of the Tier 2 event receive a promotion earning invitations to a future top-tier Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournament.

Pinty’s Cup

The Pinty’s Cup is awarded to the men’s and women’s teams that have accumulated the most bonus points over the course of the season. Points are distributed at the Tour Challenge Tier 1 as per below. Teams in the Tier 2 division do not earn Pinty’s Cup points.

Champion: 12 points
Finalist: 9 points
Semifinalists: 7 points
Quarterfinalists: 5 points
Non-playoff teams: 1 point per win

Tour Challenge Tier 1 men’s champions

2015-16: Kevin Koe, Marc Kennedy, Brent Laing, Ben Hebert

2016-17: Niklas Edin, Oskar Eriksson, Rasmus Wrana, Christoffer Sundgren

2017-18: Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker

2018-19: Brad Jacobs, Ryan Fry, E.J. Harnden, Ryan Harnden

Tour Challenge Tier 1 women’s champions

2015-16: Silvana Tirinzoni, Manuela Siegrist, Esther Neuenschwander, Marlene Albrecht

2016-17: Val Sweeting, Lori Olson-Johns, Dana Ferguson, Rachel Brown

2017-18: Val Sweeting, Lori Olson-Johns, Dana Ferguson, Rachel Brown

2018-19: Rachel Homan, Emma Miskew, Joanne Courtney, Lisa Weagle

Tour Challenge Tier 2 men’s champions

2015-16: Jim Cotter, Ryan Kuhn, Tyrel Griffith, Rick Sawatsky

2016-17: Greg Balsdon, Jonathan Beuk, David Staples, Scott Chadwick

2017-18: Jason Gunnlaugson, Alex Forrest, Ian McMillan, Connor Njegovan

2018-19: Kirk Muyres, Kevin Marsh, Daniel Marsh, Dallan Muyres

Tour Challenge Tier 2 women’s champions

2015-16: Kerri Einarson, Selena Kaatz, Liz Fyfe, Kristin MacCuish

2016-17: Jacqueline Harrison, Janet Murphy, Stephanie Matheson, Melissa Foster

2017-18: Kerri Einarson, Selena Kaatz, Liz Fyfe, Kristin MacCuish

2018-19: Elena Stern, Briar Huerlimann, Lisa Gisler, Celine Koller