Team Reid Carruthers

Team Carruthers


Hometown: Winnipeg, MB | Twitter: @TeamRCarruthers

Mike McEwen
Reid Carruthers
Derek Samagalski
Colin Hodgson
Birthdate: July 30, 1980
Birthplace: Brandon, MB
Resides: Winnipeg, MB
Birthdate: Dec. 30, 1984
Birthplace: Winnipeg, MB
Resides: Winnipeg, MB
Birthdate: Sept. 9, 1984
Birthplace: Winnipeg, MB
Resides: Winnipeg, MB
Birthdate: June 8, 1990
Birthplace: Edmonton, AB
Resides: Winnipeg, MB
- Brier bronze medallist (2017)
- Two-time Manitoba provincial champion (2016 & 2017)
- Two-time Masters champion (2010 & 2015)
- National champion (2014)
- Two-time Canadian Open champion (Jan. 2011 & Dec. 2011)
- Two-time Elite 10 champion (2015 & 2018)
- Canada Cup champion (2014)
- Winter Universiade gold medallist (2003)
- World champion (2011)
- Brier champion (2011)
- Five-time Manitoba champion (2011, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2018)
- Champions Cup winner (2016)
- National champion (2013)
- Two-time Canada Cup champion (2012 & 2016)
- World mixed doubles silver medallist (2017)
- Canadian mixed doubles champion (2017)
- Three-time Manitoba champion (2012, 2015 & 2018)
- Champions Cup winner (2016)
- Canada Cup champion (2016)
- Two-time Manitoba provincial champion (2015 & 2018)
- Champions Cup winner (2016)
- Canada Cup champion (2016)
- Canada Winter Games gold medallist (2007)


Reid Carruthers returned to skipping his own squad in 2014 after four successful seasons playing front end on Jeff Stoughton’s team winning Brier and world titles in 2011.

Carruthers reunited with Derek Samagalski — having played together previously in 2005-06 and from 2008-10 — and added a pair of new members from two different provinces: Saskatchewan’s Braeden Moskowy and Alberta’s Colin Hodgson. The all-new Team Carruthers won the Manitoba provincial title in its first season together defeating Team McEwen in the Safeway Championship final to advance to the 2015 Tim Hortons Brier.

The 2015-16 campaign was a breakout season on the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling circuit for Team Carruthers finishing runner-up at two events — the National and the Elite 10 — and capturing its first GSOC title together at the inaugural Humpty’s Champions Cup. For Moskowy, Samagalski, and Hodgson it was their first championship win ever in the series while Carruthers’s earned his first as a skip after claiming the National in 2013 with Team Stoughton.

The Champions Cup title almost got away from them as Carruthers had a shot to win in the extra end, but hit and rolled out for a blank that resulted in a rare double extra end. The second time around Carruthers needed to make a trickier draw shot while facing three counters and his rock stopped just in time to defeat Team Epping.

Carruthers won the 2016 Canada Cup to book a spot to the Canadian Olympic Curling Trials. Craig Savill, a two-time world champion with Team Glenn Howard, joined the Carruthers crew late in the season as an alternate/adviser.

Carruthers paired with Joanne Courtney (Team Homan) to with the 2017 Canadian mixed doubles championship. Their silver medal performance at the worlds helped Canada clinch a berth to the upcoming Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea. Moskowy skipped Team Carruthers at the Champions Cup while their skip was away at the world mixed doubles championship.

Event Round Opponent Result
Tour Challenge (Tier 1) RR Walstad L 4-8
RR Laycock L 6-7
RR Jacobs L 5-7
RR Morris W 9-6
Masters RR De Cruz W 6-3
RR Jacobs L 4-8
RR Simmons W 7-6
RR Laycock W 9-3
QF Edin L 3-4
BOOST National RR Kim L 3-7
RR Liu W 6-5
RR Epping W 9-6
RR Simmons W 6-5
QF Kim L 2-6
Meridian Canadian Open A Gunnlaugson L 3-9
B Koe W 7-6
B Edin W 8-4
B De Cruz L 3-8
C Shuster W 9-3
QF Jacobs L 3-7
Princess Auto Elite 10 RR Howard W 4-3
RR Epping L 1-4
RR Edin L 3-4
RR Gushue L 0-3
Players’ Championship RR Epping L 5-6
RR Shuster L 6-7
RR Bottcher W 9-4
RR Koe L 5-6
RR Gushue L 6-7

Legend: RR = Round Robin | A/B/C = Triple knockout round | SO = Shootout | TB = Tiebreaker | QF = Quarterfinals | SF = Semifinals | F = Final