Team Kerri Einarson

Team Einarson

Team Profile

Hometown: Gimli, MB | Twitter: @EinarsonTeam

Skip Third Second Lead
Birthdate: Oct. 3, 1987
Birthplace: Selkrik, MB
Resides: Camp Morton, MB
Birthdate: July 9, 1987
Birthplace: Redvers, SK
Resides: Edmonton, AB
Birthdate: May 11, 1994
Birthplace: Winnipeg, MB
Resides: Winnipeg, MB
Birthdate: March 11, 1992
Birthplace: Winnipeg, MB
Resides: Winnipeg, MB
- Players’ Championship winner (2019)
- National champion (2016)
- Two-time Tour Challenge Tier 2 winner (2015 & 2017)
- Scotties Tournament of Hearts silver medallist (2018)
- Manitoba Scotties champion (2016)
- Pinty’s Cup champion (2016-17)
- Players’ Championship winner (2019)
- Two-time Tour Challenge Tier 1 champion (2016 & 2017)
- Masters champion (2014)
- Canada Cup champion (2014)
- Two-time Scotties Tournament of Hearts silver medallist (2014 & 2015)
- Three-time Alberta Scotties champion (2010, 2014 & 2015)
- World championship gold medallist (2018)
- Scotties Tournament of Hearts gold medallist (2018)
- Players’ Championship winner (2019)
- Two-time Canadian junior silver medallist (2012 & 2013)
- Players’ Championship winner (2019)
- Canadian junior bronze medallist (2011)

Team Bio

Kerri Einarson had a breakout season in 2015-16 with third Selena Kaatz, second Liz Fyfe and lead Kristin MacCuish winning the inaugural Tour Challenge Tier 2 to earn their first title together. The victory vaulted them into the Masters where they proved they belonged among the elite by reaching the semifinals, defeating Tour Challenge Tier 1 victors Team Tirinzoni during the quarters no less.

The crew continued their banner year through provincials capturing the Manitoba Scotties title for the first time following runner-up finishes in the previous two years.

Einarson earned her first Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling major championship at the Boost National in 2016. Although her team slipped outside of the top ranks, they captured the Tour Challenge Tier 2 title again in 2017 to receive another promotion and finished runner-up at the Masters. Team Einarson defeated Team Carey to become the first wild-card entry at the 2018 Scotties Tournament of Hearts and picked up the silver medal.

The team split up with Einarson forming a new squad with former skips Val Sweeting, Shannon Birchard, and Briane Meilleur.

Sweeting is a three-time Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling champion and winner of the 2016-17 Pinty’s Cup as the overall season champion in the series. She skipped her squad to its first major championship at the 2014 Masters with lead Rachel Brown, second Dana Ferguson and super-spare third Cathy Overton-Clapham. Lori Olson-Johns joined the crew right after and helped them win the 2014 Canada Cup plus back-to-back Tour Challenge Tier 1 titles (2016 and 2017).

Birchard is a two-time runner-up at the Canadian junior championships. She filled in on Jennifer Jones’s team during the 2018 Scotties Tournament of Hearts for third Kaitlyn Lawes, who was preparing to represent Canada in mixed doubles at the Pyeongchang Winter Olympics. Birchard won the Canadian national women’s championship with Team Jones and also earned gold at the world championship as the club’s alternate with Lawes back in the lineup.

Meilleur represented Manitoba twice at the Canadian junior championships (2010 and 2011) playing third for Breanne Knapp (nee Meakin) and earning bronze in 2011. Their roles were reversed last season with Knapp playing third for Meilleur alongside second Janelle Vachon and lead Sarah Neufeld.

2018-19 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling results

Canadian Beef Masters
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Fleury W 7-3
Round Robin K. Jones L 5-6
Round Robin Homan L 1-8
Round Robin Tirinzoni W 5-4
Tiebreaker Hasselborg L 2-7
Tour Challenge Tier 1
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Christensen W 5-3
Round Robin Carey W 7-3
Round Robin Sinclair W 4-3
Round Robin Homan L 2-7
Quarterfinals Tirinzoni W 4-3
Semifinals Fleury L 3-6
Boost National
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Muirhead W 5-2
Round Robin Scheidegger W 9-4
Round Robin Harrison L 5-7
Round Robin Homan L 5-6
Tiebreaker Sinclair W 12-0
Quarterfinals Hasselborg W 8-3
Semifinals Tirinzoni W 8-3
Final Homan L 1-4
Boost National
Stage Opponent Result
Triple Knockout A Roth L 4-5
Triple Knockout B Fleury L 7-8
Triple Knockout C Stern W 7-2
Triple Knockout C Jones L 4-7
Players’ Championship
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Fujisawa W 6-4
Round Robin Hasselborg L 2-5
Round Robin Carey L 4-6
Round Robin Yoshimura L 4-5
Round Robin Scheidegger W 7-2
Quarterfinals Fleury W 6-4
Semifinals Silvernagle W 7-4
Final Hasselborg W 5-4
Humpty’s Champions Cup
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Kovaleva W 6-5
Round Robin Rumyanceva W 7-1
Round Robin Scheidegger W 8-3
Round Robin Tirinzoni L 3-7
Quarterfinals Kovaleva W 8-6
Semifinals Hasselborg W 5-4
Final Tirinzoni L 3-6