Team Glenn Howard

Team Howard

Team Profile

Hometown: Penetanguishene, ON | Twitter: @TeamGlennHoward

Skip Third Second Lead
Birthdate: July 17, 1962
Birthplace: Midland, ON
Resides: Tiny, ON
Birthdate: July 11, 1990
Birthplace: Midland, ON
Resides: Midland, ON
Birthdate: May 12, 1991
Birthplace: Ottawa, ON
Resides: Ottawa, ON
Birthdate: April 28, 1987
Birthplace: Toronto, ON
Resides: Toronto, ON
- Four-time world champion (1987, 1993, 2007 & 2012)
- Four-time Brier champion (1987, 1993, 2007 & 2012)
- 17-time Ontario Tankard champion (1986, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2016 & 2017)
- Six-time Masters champion (2006, Jan. 2008, Nov. 2008, 2009, 2011 & 2013)
- Four-time National champion (2002, 2004, 2012 & 2014)
- Two-time Canadian Open champion (2009 & 2012)
- Four-time Players’ Championship winner (1993, 1997, 2008 & 2013)
- World champion (2012)
- Brier champion (2012)
- Three-time Ontario Tankard champion (2015, 2016 & 2017)
- Players’ Championship winner (2012)
- Canadian junior silver medallist (2011)
- Two-time Ontario Tankard champion (2015 & 2017)
- P.E.I. Tankard champion (2016)
- Players’ Championship winner (2012)
- Canadian junior silver medallist (2011)
- Ontario Tankard champion (2018)
- Canadian Open champion (2015)
- Dominion Curling Club Championship finalist (2010)

Team Bio

Glenn Howard is one of the most decorated curlers in the sport’s history. His 16 Grand Slam titles are the most among active curlers, and he ranks second all-time following Kevin Martin (18).

Howard played third with his brother, Russ Howard, winning his first Brier and world titles in 1987. Wayne Middaugh (second) and Peter Corner (lead) joined the Howard brothers in 1990 and a dynasty was born as they captured in Ontario Tankard four consecutive seasons. Team Howard won both Brier and world titles and captured the inaugural Players’ Championship in 1993.

Glenn Howard formed his own team in 2000 with third Richard Hart, second Collin Mitchell, and lead Jason Mitchell. The team claimed the National during the inaugural Grand Slam of Curling season in 2001-02.

Brent Laing (second) and Craig Savill (lead) came on board in 2004 and another dynasty team was born. The club captured four consecutive Masters titles from 2006-09 as well as the 2008 Players’ Championship and the 2009 Canadian Open. Team Howard had another banner year in 2007 winning both the Brier and world titles.

Hart announced his retirement from competitive curling after the 2010-11 season and Howard reunited with Middaugh, who took over at third. Team Howard continued to dominate the Grand Slam of Curling series winning six titles over the course of three seasons. Howard captured his fourth Brier in 2012 and once again completed the double winning a fourth world championship as well.

Scott Howard served as the alternate for his father’s team in the past earning the 2012 Brier and world championships with the club. He won his first career Grand Slam title at the 2012 Players’ Championship with Team Epping, coincidentally, defeating Team Howard in the final. Scott Howard joined Team Kean for 2014-15 and captured the Ontario Tankard to represent the province at the 2015 Brier. He joined Team Howard at lead the following season.

Team Howard has undergone several lineup changes over the years with Hart coming back in 2014 and Middaugh stepping away and returning as well. When Middaugh sustained a broken leg during a skiing accident prior to the 2016 Ontario Tankard, Adam Spencer filled in on the team and helped them win another provincial title.

With Middaugh still on the mend, David Mathers joined the team for 2016-17. Mathers and Scott Howard have played together on numerous occasions in the past reaching the Canadian junior finals and winning the Players’ Championship and Ontario Tankard titles.

Scott Howard moved up to third starting in 2018 with Tim March, formerly with Team Epping, entering the picture at lead.

2018-19 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling results

Princess Auto Elite 10
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Epping L 1-5
Round Robin Gushue W 3-2
Round Robin Gunnlaugson W 4-1
Round Robin Mouat W 4-1
Quarterfinals Epping L 0-4
Canadian Beef Masters
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Murphy L 2-6
Round Robin Mouat L 2-8
Round Robin Koe L 1-7
Round Robin Walstad W 7-2
Tour Challenge (Tier 1)
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Calvert W 9-2
Round Robin Bottcher L 4-5
Round Robin Jacobs L 1-5
Round Robin Koe W 8-2
Tiebreaker Dunstone W 6-4
Quarterfinals Gushue W 6-4
Semifinals Bottcher L 2-5
Boost National
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Gunnlaugson W 4-1
Round Robin Muyres L 4-6
Round Robin Koe L 4-5
Round Robin Epping W 7-6
Tiebreaker Muyres W 4-2
Quarterfinals Jacobs W 5-4
Semifinals Paterson L 6-7
Meridian Canadian Open
Stage Opponent Result
Triple Knockout A Gushue W 5-4
Triple Knockout A Edin W 4-3
Triple Knockout A Mouat L 3-4
Triple Knockout B Jacobs W 5-3
Quarterfinals Gushue L 2-6
Players’ Championship
Stage Opponent Result
Round Robin Koe W 6-5
Round Robin Mouat W 7-6
Round Robin Carruthers L 2-4
Round Robin Edin W 5-2
Round Robin Paterson L 2-4
Quarterfinals Koe L 3-7