Anna Sloan delivers a stone during the 2018 Players' Championship in Toronto. (Anil Mungal)

Team Muirhead retools roster with Sloan stepping away

July 11, 2018, 5:26 PM

Eve Muirhead’s squad will have a revamped look for next season with longtime third Anna Sloan moving on.

British Curling announced its programme teams for the 2018-19 campaign Wednesday with Sloan opting to “take a career break to pursue other interests” according to the release.

Second Vicki Chalmers (née Adams) and lead Lauren Gray return to the Team Muirhead lineup while Jennifer Dodds and Vicky Wright, who both previously played with Hannah Fleming, join at third and alternate, respectively.

The 27-year-old Sloan won three women’s titles in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series claiming the Players’ Championship twice (2013 and 2015) and the Canadian Open women’s once (2014) while also collecting two Bonus Cups (2012-13 and 2014-15). Sloan captured the 2013 world championship and represented Great Britain twice at the Winter Olympics earning bronze in 2014.

There will now be a Team Muirhead in the men’s division too featuring two sets of brothers. Glen Muirhead, who served as the alternate for Team Smith this past season, takes the reins at skip with Kyle Smith sliding over to third, Thomas Muirhead moving down to second and Cammy Smith sticking at lead.

Kyle Waddell shuffles over from Team Smith to third on the all-new Team Paterson, which includes skip Ross Paterson, second Duncan Menzies and lead Michael Goodfellow.

Reigning Boost National men’s champion Team Mouat remains intact for next season (as the group announced back in March) while women’s club Team Jackson is also staying together.