Middaugh defeats Peters to win 2002 Players’ Championship

March 3, 2002, 8:00 PM

STRATHROY, Ont. — Wayne Middaugh successfully defended the WCT Players’ Championship following a 6-4 victory over Vic Peters in Sunday’s final.

It’s the fourth time in six seasons the Midland, Ont., team of Middaugh, third Graeme McCarrel, second Ian Tetley and lead Scott Bailey have captured the title. Team Middaugh, who earned $37,000, also won the Canadian Open, the first leg of the Grand Slam of Curling series.

Middaugh gave up a single steal to start and conceded another in the fifth to fall behind 3-1 but grabbed a one-point lead off of a runback to count three in the sixth.

Team Peters tied it up in seven and third Mark Olson came up light on a stone in nine that allowed Middaugh to capitalize and set up the decisive deuce. Middaugh clinched the championship on a double takeout with the last rock in the 10th.

The Winnipeg-based team of Peters, Olson, second Chris Neufeld and lead Steve Gould claimed $20,000 for their runner-up result.

Earlier, Middaugh drew to the four-foot circle in an extra end to edge Olympic silver medallist Kevin Martin of Edmonton 9-8 during the semifinals.

Martin, third Don Walchuk, second Carter Rycroft and lead Ken Tralnberg banked $15,000.