Jennifer Jones at the 2017 Players' Championship in Toronto. (Anil Mungal)

Players’ Championship returning to Toronto in 2018

July 27, 2017, 2:33 PM

The Players’ Championship is coming back to Toronto.

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Thursday its crown jewel event of the season will return to Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre, April 10-15, 2018.

It’ll be the fourth consecutive season and fifth time in six years the Players’ Championship will be held at the historic venue formerly known as Maple Leaf Gardens.

The Players’ Championship is the fourth and final major of the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season and features the top 12 men’s teams and top 12 women’s teams of the year. Winners of the Bonus Cup, awarded to the overall season champions, will also be crowned following the conclusion of the Players’ Championship.

Ticket info will be announced at a future date.

The Players’ Championship celebrated a milestone this past season with its 25th running. Winnipeg’s Jennifer Jones captured her record sixth Players’ Championship women’s title defeating Edmonton’s Val Sweeting in the final. Meanwhile, Sweden’s Niklas Edin earned his first Players’ Championship men’s title, and third Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling trophy of the season, after topping Winnipeg’s Mike McEwen.

Winners of the Players’ Championship receive berths to the season-ending Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournament, the Humpty’s Champions Cup, running April 24-29 at WinSport Arena in Calgary.

Keep it here at for more updates.