Jamie Sinclair in action at the 2018 Players' Championship in Toronto. (Anil Mungal)

Players’ Championship live: Sinclair stuns Jones for title

April 15, 2018, 4:58 PM

TORONTO — Jamie Sinclair stole to stun Jennifer Jones 7-2 and capture the Players’ Championship women’s title Sunday at Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre.

Team Sinclair is the first American team ever to capture a Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling title.

Here’s how it all went down:

1ST END (5:23 p.m. ET): Jones opened with the hammer and it was spring cleaning with Sinclair making a double on her first skip stone to prevent a big score and led to a blank on the board. JONES O, SINCLAIR 0

2ND END (5:37 p.m. ET): A steal opened the scoring. Sinclair jammed on her last to open the door for Jones to attempt a double takeout to score three. However, Jones jammed as well and gave up a point. SINCLAIR 1, JONES 0

3RD END (5:55 p.m. ET) Double trouble for Jones, who missed back-to-back raises and couldn’t eliminate Sinclair’s stones by the button to concede two points. SINCLAIR 3, JONES 0

4TH END (6:12 p.m. ET): The highway robbery continued. Jones looked to make an angle raise from downtown for a possible three but didn’t get it right and handed over another point. SINCLAIR 4, JONES 0

5TH END (6:33 p.m. ET): Jones is on the board but it’s only a single. Sinclair continued her aggressive play sitting seven stones with four in the house and three up top as guards, but it was Jones with shot rock and a chance to score two. She hit but was an inch too far and only got one. SINCLAIR 4, JONES 1

6TH END (6:49 p.m. ET): The plot thickens. Sinclair’s first chance with the hammer looked like it was going to be game over but turned into a steal. Jones drew to the eight-foot, Sinclair looked to follow the path and score three but could only nudge the counter and not far enough. SINCLAIR 4, JONES 2

7TH END (7:14 p.m. ET): That’s a three count for Sinclair and a three count to the match. SINCLAIR 7, JONES 2

Earlier, Calgary’s Kevin Koe claimed the men’s title with a 6-2 win over Niklas Edin of Sweden.