Glenn Howard defeats Jeff Stoughton to win 2004 National

January 25, 2004, 8:00 PM

PRINCE ALBERT, Sask. — Glenn Howard claimed the National Grand Slam of Curling title for the second time in three seasons after beating Jeff Stoughton 5-3 in Sunday’s final.

The Coldwater, Ont., team of Howard, Richard Hart, Collin Mitchell and Jason Mitchell won the inaugural National in 2002 and finished runner-up to Quebec’s Pierre Charette at the event last season.

Stoughton earned $18,000 of the $100,000 prize purse for his Winnipeg-based team of third Jon Mead, second Garry VanDenBerghe and lead Steve Gould.