About the National



The first National tournament was held during 2001-02, the first season of the Grand Slam of Curling series. Glenn Howard skipped his team to the inaugural championship in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., defeating Greg McAulay in the final.

Howard defeated Jeff Stoughton in the 2004 final to capture his second National title in three seasons. Team Howard were finalists at the event in 2003 but fell to Pierre Charette’s team.

Kevin Martin came to dominate the event as the Edmonton skip won three of four National tournaments. The first one in late 2004 was particularly special for Martin as he became the first skip to complete a career Grand Slam.

Brad Gushue earned his first career Grand Slam title at the 2010 National defeating Randy Ferbey 6-4 in the final.

For Stoughton the fourth time proved to be the charm. The Winnipeg skip was runner-up at the tournament three previous times before he finally broke through and captured the National in 2013. With the win Stoughton became just the fourth skip to complete a career Grand Slam.

Mike McEwen’s team was white-hot to start 2014-15 and picked up their first career National title that season after defeating reigning Olympic champions Team Brad Jacobs in their own backyard of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

The 2015 National expanded to include a women’s division and Rachel Homan was crowned the champion after beating Tracy Fleury in the women’s final. Gushue scored the men’s title with a win over Reid Carruthers.

Bonus Cup

The Bonus Cup is awarded to the men’s and women’s teams that have accumulated the most bonus points over the course of the season. Points are distributed at the National as per below:

1st place: 12 points
2nd place: 9 points
3rd & 4th place: 7 points
5th – 8th place: 5 points
1 point per win for all other teams

For up-to-date standings and more information on the Bonus Cup, click here.

National men’s champions

2001-02: Glenn Howard, Richard Hart, Collin Mitchell, Jason Mitchell

2002-03: Pierre Charette, Martin Ferland, Michel Ferland, Marco Berthelot

2003-04: Glenn Howard, Richard Hart, Collin Mitchell, Jason Mitchell

2004-05: Kevin Martin, Don Walchuk, Carter Rycroft, Don Bartlett

2005-06: Wayne Middaugh, Peter Corner, Phil Loevenmark, Scott Bailey

2006-07: Kevin Martin, John Morris, Marc Kennedy, Ben Hebert

2007-08: Kevin Martin, John Morris, Brent Laing, Ben Hebert

2008-09: Wayne Middaugh, Jon Mead, John Epping, Scott Bailey

2009-10: Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Ryan Fry, Jamie Korab

2010-11: Kevin Martin, John Morris, Marc Kennedy, Ben Hebert

2011-12: Glenn Howard, Wayne Middaugh, Brent Laing, Craig Savill

2012-13: Jeff Stoughton, Jon Mead, Reid Carruthers, Mark Nichols

2013-14: Glenn Howard, Wayne Middaugh, Brent Laing, Craig Savill

2014-15: Mike McEwen, B.J. Neufeld, Matt Wozniak, Denni Neufeld

2015-16: Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker

2016-17: Brad Jacobs, Ryan Fry, E.J. Harnden, Ryan Harnden

2017-18: Bruce Mouat, Grant Hardie, Bobby Lammie, Hammy McMillan Jr.

National women’s champions

2015-16: Rachel Homan, Emma Miskew, Joanne Courtney, Lisa Weagle

2016-17: Kerri Einarson, Selena Kaatz, Liz Fyfe, Kristin MacCuish

2017-18: Jennifer Jones, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jill Officer, Dawn McEwen, Jennifer Clark-Rouire