Reigning world champion Rachel Homan shoots a stone during the second draw of the Pinty's Grand Slam of Curling Tour Challenge in Regina on Sept. 5, 2017. (Anil Mungal)

Teams announced for Masters in Lloydminster

October 2, 2017, 4:19 PM

The field is now set for the Masters, running Oct. 24-29 at Centennial Civic Centre in Lloydminster, Sask.

Fifteen of the top men’s teams and 15 of the top women’s teams from around the globe will square off in the second event of the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season.

Teams were invited to the Masters based on the World Curling Tour’s Order of Merit rankings as of Sept. 19. Winnipeg’s Team Gunnlaugson and Team Einarson earned their spots winning the Tour Challenge Tier 2 titles last month in Regina to move up the ranks with airfare and accommodations provided.

Quick Links: Tickets | Teams | TV Schedule

All roads lead to the 2018 Winter Olympics this season and a few teams who have already been selected to represent their countries in Pyeongchang, South Korea, will hit the ice at the Masters including Switzerland’s Team de Cruz, Sweden’s Team Edin and Team Hasselborg, and Great Britain’s Team Smith and Team Muirhead.

The Masters is also the first major of the year as one of the original four events in the series. Edin made history at the Masters last season becoming the first non-Canadian men’s squad to win a Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event. Team Flaxey of Caledon, Ont., also claimed their first title in the series on the women’s side at the event a year ago in Okotoks, Alta.

The winning teams of the Masters qualify for the season-ending Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournament, the Humpty’s Champions Cup, running April 24-29, 2018, at Calgary’s WinSport Arena.

Teams also earn points towards the Bonus Cup, awarded to the overall season champions following the conclusion of the Players’ Championship. The Bonus Cup winning teams receive $75,000 each in bonus prize money. Edin and Edmonton’s Team Sweeting collected the Bonus Cup last season.

Full event and weekend passes plus single draw tickets are now available for the Masters, visit or call 306-825-5161 to purchase your passes today. Live TV coverage begins Oct. 26 on Sportsnet and online at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and (international).

Rank Team (Skip) Hometown
1 Niklas Edin Karlstad, SWE
2 Brad Gushue St. John’s, NL
3 Brad Jacobs Sault Ste. Marie, ON
4 Reid Carruthers Winnipeg, MB
5 Mike McEwen Winnipeg, MB
6 John Epping Toronto, ON
7 Kevin Koe Calgary, AB
8 Kyle Smith Stirling, SCO
9 Peter de Cruz Geneva, SUI
10 Steve Laycock Saskatoon, SK
11 Thomas Ulsrud Oslo, NOR
13 John Morris Vernon, BC
14 Jason Gunnlaugson* Winnipeg, MB
15 John Shuster Duluth, USA
16 Pat Simmons Winnipeg, MB
Rank Team (Skip) Hometown
1 Anna Hasselborg Sundbyberg, SWE
2 Rachel Homan Ottawa, ON
3 Jennifer Jones Winnipeg, MB
4 Silvana Tirinzoni Aarau, SUI
5 Val Sweeting Edmonton, AB
6 Eve Muirhead Stirling, SCO
7 Allison Flaxey Caledon, ON
8 Michelle Englot Winnipeg, MB
9 Alina Paetz Zurich, SUI
10 Jacqueline Harrison Mississauga, ON
11 Casey Scheidegger Lethbridge, AB
12 Jamie Sinclair Blaine, USA
13 Anna Sidorova Moscow, RUS
14 Kerri Einarson* Winnipeg, MB
15 Sherry Middaugh Coldwater, ON

* already qualified as Tour Challenge Tier 2 winner

Note: Men’s No. 12 Team Walstad declined their invite. The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling continued down the OOM to complete the 15-team field and invited No. 16 Team Simmons, who accepted.