Jeff Stoughton (Photo Credit: Anil Mungal)

Stoughton confirmed for Masters in Selkirk

October 3, 2014, 2:11 PM

Jeff Stoughton and his all-new Winnipeg rink will compete at the Masters tournament, the first stop of the Grand Slam of Curling series this season.

The series has announced the full list of teams confirmed for the event, running Oct. 28 to Nov. 2 in Selkirk, Man.

Olympic gold medallist Brad Jacobs from Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., Calgary’s John Morris, Saskatoon’s Steve Laycock and Swiss skips Peter de Cruz and Sven Michel have also accepted invites for their teams.

Single draw tickets as well as weekend and all-event passes for the Masters are now on sale. Click here to purchase online or call 1-800-793-6678.

Winnipeg-born Chelsea Carey will be making a homecoming at the Masters, skipping her new Edmonton-based team in the women’s division.

Edmonton’s Val Sweeting and Heather Nedohin will have their teams ready in Selkirk while Ontario skips Allison Flaxey, from Listowel, and Sherry Middaugh, from Coldwater, have also confirmed their rinks will compete at the Masters.

Olympic gold medallist Jennifer Jones from Winnipeg and two-time defending Masters champion Rachel Homan from Ottawa announced earlier in the season their teams will be back at the Masters.

The top 14 men’s and top 14 women’s teams were invited to the Masters based on the World Curling Tour’s order of merit list. For any teams that declined, the Grand Slam of Curling continued down the OOM list. The Grand Slam holds the option to reserve one men’s team spot and one women’s team spot for sponsor’s exemptions. This rule was used to invite Jeff Stoughton and Kristy McDonald’s teams.

The full draw schedule is expected to be announced next week.

Here is the full list of skips confirmed for the Masters:

Masters team list