Masters: Rules & Regulations



The Masters features 15 men’s and 15 women’s teams. Both men’s and women’s divisions are split into three pools of five teams for round-robin play.

Rules of Play

All matches will be contested under the Curling Canada “Rules of Curling for Officiated Play.”

Five-rock rule

All games in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling are played utilizing the five-rock rule.

Teams must wait until five rocks have been played before they can start eliminating rocks that are sitting in the free-guard zone (outside the house from the tee line to the near hog line). The five-rock rule is designed to generate more offence with an extra guard in play.


All matches will be eight ends. Each team will have 33 minutes plus two, 90-second timeouts using the “Slam Time” System.

Slam Time

Teams are allowed a maximum of 30 seconds to deliver the first rock of an end. If the delivering team has not delivered its first rock within the 30 seconds, their clock will start.

TV games: Between ends breaks will be confirmed before the game.

If a team runs out of time, they will stop delivering stones for the rest of the eight-end match.

Please note that this rule will be enforced. It is your responsibility to monitor your clock. The head official may notify a team if he deems it necessary.

Extra End

Teams get five minutes to complete an extra end regardless of how much time they finished the eighth end. Each team gets one (1) x 90-second timeout regardless of how many timeouts they had remaining after the eighth end. If a team runs out of time in the extra end they will stop delivering stones.

Draw to the Button

During the round-robin, each team member must execute the draw to the button at least once. The chosen player will first deliver a rock towards the home end with the help of brushers. If the player covers the pinhole completely, the same shooter will then deliver a second draw to the button without brushers. Should both teams cover again, a third stone would be delivered by a different player with the help of one brusher only, then no brusher if both teams cover again and so on until we determine a pre-game draw winner.

The total distance of the four pre-game shootouts will be used to rank the teams tied with the same record.

Playoff Qualification

After all round-robin matches are completed, the top eight teams based on win/loss records and ties from the field of 15 teams advance to the playoff round or tie-breaking system. Teams will then be re-ranked by their round-robin win/loss records and if tied by their shootout scores.

Tiebreaker games will be eight ends. Should more than one (1) tiebreaker draw be needed, the head official reserves the right to change tiebreakers to six-end games.

*Shootout scores can achieve qualification, but not elimination without playing a tiebreaker match.
*Exception: Team(s) at 1-3 may be eliminated from tiebreakers, as a maximum of two tiebreaker draws will be played.

Entry fee & Purse breakdown

Entry is $1,200 per team and is payable at the end of the event by teams that go winless in round-robin play. Entry fee will be deducted from winnings for all the other teams.

Prize Money: $125,000 CDN

Winner: $30,000
Runner-Up: $ 18,000
Semifinalists: $ 12,000 per team
Quarterfinalists: $ 9,000 per team
Round Robin $ 2,000 per round robin win (for non-qualifying teams only).

The winners of the Masters receive invitations to the Champions Cup, which is the final event of the season and showcases all of the winners from major events in curling.

Pinty’s Cup

The Pinty’s Cup is awarded to the men’s and women’s teams that have accumulated the most bonus points over the course of the season. Points are distributed at the Masters as per below:

Winner: 12 points
Runner-up: 9 points
Semifinalists: 7 points
Quarterfinalists: 5 points
1 point per win for all other teams

For up-to-date standings and more information on the Pinty’s Cup, click here.