Format for the Masters


The Masters features 15 men’s and 15 women’s teams. Both men’s and women’s divisions are split into three pools of five teams for round-robin play.

At the conclusion of the round-robin, the top eight teams overall qualify for the single elimination playoffs. Tiebreaker matches may be played in the event teams are tied for the final playoff positions.

The winners of the Masters receive invitations to the Champions Cup, which is the final event of the season and showcases all of the winners from major events in curling.

Pre-game draw-to-the-button shootout: Each player on the team will execute the pre-game draw-to-the-button shootout once during the four-game round-robin. All of the pre-game draws will count towards a team total. The total distance of the four shootouts will be used to rank the teams that have completed the round-robin with the same record. Should a team register all zeros for the four draws, an extra draw must be executed by the player who delivered the draw in the last round-robin game without sweepers.

Five-rock rule: All Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling games utilize the five-rock free-guard zone. Rocks sitting in the free-guard zone (outside the house from the tee line up to the nearest hog line) cannot be removed from play until five rocks have been thrown.