Brad Gushue (Photo: Anil Mungal)

Top teams confirmed for Syncrude Elite 10

February 6, 2015, 3:42 PM

The field is set for the Syncrude Elite 10 as the top 10 ranked men’s teams on the World Curling Tour’s year-to-date order of merit all accepted their invites to the brand-new Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event.

Running March 19-22 in Fort McMurray, Alta., the Syncrude Elite 10 is the fourth stop on the Grand Slam series. Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., took home the Masters and Canadian Open titles while Winnipeg’s Mike McEwen claimed the National championship earlier this season.

Both skips headline the field for the Syncrude Elite 10 along with 2014 Sochi Olympics gold medallist Brad Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

Syncrude Elite 10: Buy Tickets | Draw Schedule | TV Schedule

Winnipeg’s Reid Carruthers surged up the standings to earn an invite to his third consecutive Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling event with his all-new team.

Canadian Open finalist Steve Laycock of Saskatchewan, Calgary’s Kevin Koe, Toronto’s John Epping and Glenn Howard, from Penetanguishene, Ont., will also have their teams ready in Fort Mac.

Sweden’s Niklas Edin and Sven Michel of Switzerland round out the group of 10.