Format for the Elite 10

Elite 10

The Elite 10 features 10 teams with match play scoring. Each game is decided by the number of ends a team wins.

There are two ways to take an end: the team with hammer scores two or more points or the team without the hammer steals at least one point.

If neither team meets these requirements, no points are awarded and the hammer switches. There are no carryovers in match play; all ends are worth the same value.

Games are played to eight ends. If the match is tied (“all square”) upon the conclusion of eight ends, an extra end draw-to-the-button shootout will be played to determine the winner.

Teams receive three points for a regulation win, two points for a win in the extra end, and one point for losing in the extra end.

Two additional rules specific to the Elite 10: 1) Sweepers cannot use stopwatches, 2) Tick shots cannot be performed on rocks sitting on the centre line in the free-guard zone when the five-rock rule is in effect.

The six teams with the best records qualify for the playoffs with the top two receiving byes to the semifinals.

All events in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series are played utilizing the five-rock rule.

The winner of this event will receive an invitation to the Champions Cup, which is the final event of the season and showcases all of the winners from major events in curling.