About the Elite 10



The inaugural Elite 10 was held in Fort McMurray, Alta., in March 2015, and was the first new Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournament since the series started in 2001-02. Winnipeg’s Mike McEwen defeated Niklas Edin of Sweden in the final to become the first champion.

Victoria hosted the 2016 Elite 10 with Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., edging Winnipeg’s Reid Carruthers for the title in an extra-end shootout. Rachel Homan’s Ottawa-based team made history becoming the first women’s team to compete in a Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling men’s tournament and score a victory over a men’s team since Sportsnet acquired the series in 2012.

The Princess Auto Elite 10 travelled from the west coast to Atlantic Canada in 2017 heading to Port Hawkesbury, N.S. John Morris earned his 11th title in the series with fourth Jim Cotter delivering the winning slash takeout in the final end to defeat Brad Jacobs 1-up. GSOC legends Jeff Stoughton, David Nedohin, Nolan Thiessen and Jamie Korab came out of retirement for one tournament only as the special Elite 10 Selects. The team still had it as they qualified for the playoffs.

Pinty’s Cup

The Pinty’s Cup is awarded to the men’s and women’s teams that accumulate the most bonus points over the course of the season. Points are distributed at the Elite 10 as per below:

Winner: 12 points
Runner-up: 9 points
Semifinalists: 7 points
Quarterfinalists: 5 points
1 point per win for all other teams

For up-to-date standings and more information on the Bonus Cup, click here.

Elite 10 men’s champions

2014-15: Mike McEwen, B.J. Neufeld, Matt Wozniak, Denni Neufeld

2015-16: Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker

2016-17: John Morris, Jim Cotter, Tyrel Griffith, Rick Sawatsky

2017-18: Mike McEwen, B.J. Neufeld, Matt Wozniak, Denni Neufeld

2018-19: Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker

Elite 10 women’s champions

2018-19: Anna Hasselborg, Sara McManus, Agnes Knochenhauer, Sofia Mabergs