Chelsea Carey in action during the 2019 Meridian Canadian Open in North Battleford, Sask. (Anil Mungal)

Carey clinches spot in Alberta Scotties final

January 27, 2019, 12:22 AM

Chelsea Carey is all clear through to Sunday’s final at the Jiffy Lube Alberta Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Stettler.

Carey and her Calgary-based crew secured a spot in the championship game following a decisive 10-2 victory over Kelsey Rocque’s Edmonton team during Saturday’s Page A-B playoff.

The foursome of Carey, third Sarah Wilkes, second Dana Ferguson and lead Rachel Brown reached the final with an undefeated record having advanced to the playoffs through the A Event of the triple knockout stage at 3-0.

Carey captured the Alberta and Canadian championships in 2016 with an entirely different lineup and joined forces with her current teammates at the start of this season.

Rocque, who qualified through the B Event at 4-1, has a second shot to reach the final. The two-time world junior champion Rocque drops into Sunday’s semifinal against Calgary’s Team Jodi Marthaller, who knocked off Team Adele Kezama of Sherwood Park 8-4 in the sudden-death Page C-C playoff.

Earlier Saturday, Marthaller eliminated defending champions Team Casey Scheidegger of Lethbridge 7-6 in an extra end during the C-qualifiers.

Watch live coverage of the Jiffy Lube Alberta Scotties Tournament of Hearts Sunday on Sportsnet and streaming online at Sportsnet NOW starting with the semifinal at 1 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. MT followed by the final at 7 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. MT.

The winner of Sunday’s final will represent Alberta next month at the national Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Sydney, N.S.

Share