Kevin Koe delivers a stone during the 2017 BOOST National in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont. (Anil Mungal)

Teams set for Meridian Canadian Open in Camrose

December 18, 2017, 5:26 PM

Thirty-two curling teams received early presents this holiday season: invitations to the Meridian Canadian Open.

The fourth event (and third major) of the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling campaign runs Jan. 16-21 at Encana Arena in Camrose, Alta.

Looking for a last-minute gift for that special someone? Full event, weekend & single draw tickets are available for the Meridian Canadian Open, visit today!

The Meridian Canadian Open features 16 of the top men’s teams and 16 of the top women’s teams from around the world.

With the Winter Olympics just around the corner, this tournament will serve as a final tune-up for 11 teams competing in Pyeongchang, South Korea, including Canada’s Kevin Koe and Rachel Homan, Norway’s Thomas Ulsrud, Chang-Min Kim and EunJung Kim of the host nation South Korea, Sweden’s Niklas Edin and Anna Hasselborg, Switzerland’s Peter de Cruz and Silvana Tirinzoni, and John Shuster and Nina Roth of the U.S.

Teams were invited based on the World Curling Tour’s Order of Merit and Year to Date rankings as of Week 18. Click here for more information on the qualification process.

The Meridian Canadian Open features a triple knockout preliminary round where teams must win three games before they lose three times in order to qualify for the playoffs. Two teams from the A brackets, three teams from the B brackets and three teams from the C brackets in both divisions will advance.

The winning teams earn berths to the season-ending Humpty’s Champions Cup running April 24-29, 2018, at Calgary’s Winsport Arena.

Teams also compete for points towards the Bonus Cup awarded to the overall Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season champions. Team Gushue and Team Jones currently top the men’s and women’s standings, respectively, with each hold two title wins already in 2017-18.

Full-event, weekend and single draw tickets are available for purchase at or by calling 780-678-2868.

Can’t make it to Camrose? Watch on Sportsnet, Sportsnet NOW (Canada) or (international) beginning Jan. 18 at 2 p.m. ET. Click here for the full TV schedule.


Team (Skip) Hometown
Brendan Bottcher Edmonton, AB
Reid Carruthers Winnipeg, MB
Peter de Cruz Geneva, SUI
Niklas Edin Karlstad, SWE
John Epping Toronto, ON
Jason Gunnlaugson Winnipeg, MB
Brad Gushue St. John’s, NL
Brad Jacobs Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Kevin Koe Calgary, AB
Chang-Min Kim Uiseong, KOR
Rui Lui Harbin, CHN
Mike McEwen Winnipeg, MB
John Morris Vernon, BC
Bruce Mouat Edinburgh, SCO
John Shuster Duluth, USA
Thomas Ulsrud Oslo, NOR


Team (Skip) Hometown
Chelsea Carey Calgary, AB
Kerri Einarson Winnipeg, MB
Michelle Englot Winnipeg, MB
Allison Flaxey Caledon, ON
Anna Hasselborg Sundbyberg, SWE
Rachel Homan Ottawa, ON
Jennifer Jones Winnipeg, MB
EunJung Kim Uiseong, KOR
Alina Paetz Baden, SUI
Darcy Robertson Winnipeg, MB
Kelsey Rocque Edmonton, AB
Nina Roth Blaine, USA
Jamie Sinclair Blaine, USA
Casey Scheidegger Lethbridge, AB
Val Sweeting Edmonton, AB
Silvana Tirinzoni Aarau, SUI