John Epping in action at the 2018 Tour Challenge in Thunder Bay, Ont. (Anil Mungal)

Epping, Jacobs & Edin reach Canadian Open playoffs

January 12, 2019, 12:21 PM

NORTH BATTLEFORD, Sask. — The playoff picture is now set for the Meridian Canadian Open.

Toronto’s Team John Epping, Team Brad Jacobs of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., and Sweden’s Team Niklas Edin all qualified Saturday morning through the last-chance C Event men’s finals at Civic Centre.

Epping edged out Team Peter de Cruz of Switzerland 5-3, Jacobs scored four in the seventh end to finish Regina’s Team Matt Dunstone 8-2 and Edin clipped Winnipeg’s Team Braden Calvert 7-5.

The Meridian Canadian Open is the only one of the seven Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling tournaments to feature triple knockout — instead of round-robin pools — where teams must win three games before they lose three in order to qualify for the playoffs.

Edmonton’s Team Brendan Bottcher and Scotland’s Team Bruce Mouat both went 3-0 through the A Event to take the top seeds. Bottcher plays Jacobs and Mouat meets Edin in the quarterfinals at 3 p.m. local time.

Epping is aligned with Calgary’s Team Kevin Koe (B-qualifier; 3-1 record) while Team Brad Gushue of St. John’s, N.L., go up against Team Glenn Howard of Penetanguishene, Ont. (both B-qualifiers at 3-1) in the other two matches.


Meridian Canadian Open: Tickets | Scores & Standings | Game Schedule | Broadcast Schedule


The women’s quarterfinals were finalized Friday: Ottawa’s Team Rachel Homan (A-qualifier; 3-0) faces Team Casey Scheidegger of Lethbridge, Alta., (C-qualifier; 3-2), Scotland’s Team Eve Muirhead (A-qualifier; 3-0) meets Edmonton’s Team Chelsea Carey (C-qualifier; 3-2), Edmonton’s Team Laura Walker plays Team Nina Roth of the United States (both B-qualifiers with 3-1 records) and North Battleford’s own Team Robyn Silvernagle (B-qualifier; 3-1) go up against Switzerland’s Team Silvana Tirinzoni (C-qualifier; 3-2).

Broadcast coverage resumes with the women’s quarterfinals at 12:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. CT on CBC, followed by the men’s quarterfinals at 4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT on Sportsnet and the semifinals at 8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT on Sportsnet 360.

Both finals are scheduled for Sunday.

Online streaming is available for all playoff draws at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).

NOTES: The Meridian Canadian Open is the fifth event and third major of the 2018-19 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season. … Standard Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling rules apply: games are played to eight ends, the five-rock rule is in effect and teams receive 33 minutes of thinking time plus two, 90-second timeouts. … The combined purse is $250,000 with the winning teams earning $30,000 plus berths to the season-ending Humpty’s Champions Cup.

Share