Format for the Canadian Open


The Canadian Open features 16 men’s and 16 women’s teams with a triple knockout bracket format. Teams must win three games before they lose three games in order to qualify for the playoffs.

All teams begin in the A bracket. Teams that lose in group A drop to the B bracket and likewise, teams that are defeated in B games fall to the C bracket. Teams that lose in group C are eliminated from the tournament.

In both the men’s and women’s divisions, two teams from the A bracket, three teams from the B bracket, and three teams from the C bracket qualify for the playoffs.

All events in the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series are played utilizing the five-rock rule.

The winners of this event will receive invitations to the Champions Cup, which is the final event of the season and showcases all of the winners from major events in curling.