About the Canadian Open



The Canadian Open ushered in the Grand Slam of Curling era in 2001 with the introduction of the series. Wayne Middaugh defeated Jeff Stoughton in the final to win the inaugural title in Wainwright, Alta.

Kevin Martin won back-to-back championships in January and December 2007, the latter helping the Edmonton skip achieve his fourth consecutive Grand Slam title. Martin stretched the streak to five by winning the National later that month.

Glenn Howard denied Martin a third straight Canadian Open title at the 2009 event with an 8-4 victory in the final. Howard, third Richard Hart, second Brent Laing and lead Craig Savill all won their first Canadian Open title, completing a career Grand Slam for Howard, Hart, and Laing (Savill had yet to win the National at that point). Martin turned the tables the following year, defeating Howard 6-4 in the final to win his record fifth Canadian Open title and third in four years.

Mike McEwen won his second Grand Slam of 2010-11 at the Canadian Open that season by running the table with a perfect 8-0 record, including a 5-4 win over Howard in the final. The game went into an extra end — holding up the start of CBC’s pre-game coverage of the NHL All-Star Game — with McEwen following Howard’s path through a narrow port to hit and stick.

A change implementing the five-rock rule didn’t stop McEwen from breezing through the Canadian Open again the following season posting another perfect 8-0 record to successfully defend the title.

The tournament switched from round robin to triple knockout format for 2014. Brad Gushue dropped to the C-side in the preliminary round, but score three big wins on the penultimate day of the tournament and clinched the title defeating Steve Laycock in the final. It was also the first year the Canadian Open expanded to include a women’s division and Eve Muirhead was crowned the first champion with a 5-3 win over Rachel Homan.

Homan made history in 2015 at the Canadian Open by becoming the first women’s skip to win three consecutive Grand Slam titles in a single season. Meanwhile, John Epping threw a perfect game in the final against Gushue to win the men’s title.

It seems you have to be perfect to win here on the men’s side as Gushue replicated the feat shooting a perfect 100 percent against Niklas Edin in an 8-3 win during the 2017 final. Casey Scheidegger made her elite-level series debut and shocked the field capturing the women’s title stealing in the eighth to edge Silvana Tirinzoni 5-4.

Bonus Cup

The Bonus Cup is awarded to the men’s and women’s teams that have accumulated the most bonus points over the course of the season. Points are distributed at the Canadian Open as per below:

1st place: 12 points
2nd place: 9 points
3rd & 4th place: 7 points
5th – 8th place: 5 points
1 point per win for all non-playoff teams

For up-to-date standings and more information on the Bonus Cup, click here.

Men’s Champions

2001-02: Wayne Middaugh, Graeme McCarrel, Ian Tetley, Scott Bailey

2002-03: Kevin Martin, Don Walchuk, Carter Rycroft, Don Bartlett

2003-04: Glen Despins, Rod Montgomery, Phillip Germain, Dwayne Mihalicz

2004-05: Kevin Martin, Don Walchuk, Carter Rycroft, Don Bartlett

2005-06: Jeff Stoughton, Jon Mead, Garry VanDenBerghe, Steve Gould

2006-07: Kevin Martin, John Morris, Marc Kennedy, Ben Hebert

2007-08: Kevin Martin, John Morris, Marc Kennedy, Ben Hebert

2008-09: Glenn Howard, Richard Hart, Brent Laing, Craig Savill

2009-10: Kevin Martin, John Morris, Marc Kennedy, Ben Hebert

2010-11: Mike McEwen, B.J. Neufeld, Matt Wozniak, Denni Neufeld

2011-12: Mike McEwen, B.J. Neufeld, Matt Wozniak, Denni Neufeld

2012-13: Glenn Howard, Wayne Middaugh, Brent Laing, Craig Savill

2013-14: Kevin Koe, Pat Simmons, Carter Rycroft, Nolan Thiessen

2014-15: Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker

2015-16: John Epping, Mat Camm, Patrick Janssen, Tim March

2016-17: Brad Gushue, Mark Nichols, Brett Gallant, Geoff Walker

2017-18: Peter de Cruz, Benoit Schwarz, Claudio Paetz, Valentin Tanner

Women’s Champions

2014-15: Eve Muirhead, Anna Sloan, Vicki Adams, Sarah Reid

2015-16: Rachel Homan, Emma Miskew, Joanne Courtney, Lisa Weagle

2016-17: Casey Scheidegger, Cary-Anne McTaggart, Jessie Scheidegger, Stephanie Enright

2017-18: Chelsea Carey, Cathy Overton-Clapham, Jocelyn Peterman, Laine Peters